Chelsey Clammer (2016): There is Nothing Else to See Here, a collection of lyric essays, was one of four finalists in The Lit Pub’s second annual prose contest and will be published in Fall 2014. She was invited to teach a Flash Creative Nonfiction and an Intelligent Eroticism in Literary Fiction online workshop for The Doctor TJ Eckleburg Review in November and December, respectively.

Sydney Elliott (2015) presented “Turning Students into Superheroes: Transforming Myth into Reality,” at this year’s Community College Humanities Association’s (CCHA) national conference in Louisville, KY, in October.

Jeb Harrison (2015) has become the official Audiobooks reviewer and is a regular contributor to the Mill Valley Literary Review, a quarterly eZine featuring writers from Marin County, California. Jeb also continues to blog for The Huffington Post.



Elizabeth Arnold (2013): Her essay, “Crossing the Divide,” which first appeared in the Autumn 2012 issue of The Gettysburg Review, was named a Notable Essay of 2012 in the latest edition of Best American Essays.

Bill Capossere (2010): His play-in-progress, “Galileo’s,” received a staged reading as part of GEVA Theater’s Festival of New Theater on October 29. His ten-minute play, “The Farnsworth Encounter,” was performed as part of the 24-Hour-Play production in the Rochester Fringe Festival in September 2013. His essay, “Strange Travelers,” was selected as a Notable Essay in this year’s Best American Essays.

Erin Coughlin Hollowell (2009) was awarded a Connie Boochever Artist Fellowship for her poetry and she has been granted a residency at the Willapa Bay Artist in Residency Program.

Katie Eberhart (2010): Katie read poems from Unbound: Alaska Poems in a “conversation” with music performed by the Northern Aurora Flute Ensemble at an event sponsored by the Palmer Arts Council in Palmer, Alaska.

Kathleen Flenniken (2007): Her poetry collection, Plume (University of Washington Press, 2012), has won the Washington State Book Award. Plume was Kathleen’s Master’s thesis at RWW.

Casey Fuller (2009) has been selected by Oregon Literary Arts as a Writer in the Schools for the 2013-2014 school year.

Nancy Geyer (2013): Her essay “(Dis)Appearances” won‘s 2013 Award in Nonfiction. Her essay “Black Plank” (The Georgia Review, Spring 2013) received a silver GAMMA award from the Magazine Association of the Southeast.

Holly Hughes (2006) taught a Poetry Critique Workshop for her tenth year at the annual Write on the Sound Conference 2013 in Edmonds, Washington, and was pleased to have RWW participant, Teresa Grabstein (2016), in attendance. Holly’s poem, “The Bath,” inspired the short art film of the same name and received the Audience Award for Narrative Short at the Indie Spirit Film Festival in Colorado, September 2013.

Jill Kandel (2008, non-matric.) has been invited to read at AWP Conference as part of the River Teeth Journal 15th Anniversary Celebration, February 28, 2014.

Jean A. Kingsley (McDonough) (2008) won a First Book Award from ABZ press (judged by C. D. Wright) for her manuscript of poems, Traceries. Publication is scheduled for May 1, 2014.

Lita Kurth (2009): In August 2013, Lita and a friend inaugurated a bi-monthly reading series in San Jose called The Flash Fiction Forum at WORKS Gallery.

Carrie Mesrobian (2013): Her young adult novel, Sex & Violence, received a review in Publishers Weekly and was listed as one of “The Best New Books for the Week of September 30, 2013” (which also included books by Elizabeth Gilbert and Jeanette Winterson).

Tina Schumann (2009) will be hosting a weekend poetry retreat with Martha Silano at The Writer Island 2014 Retreat, January 31-February 2, 2014, on Orcas Island in Washington’s San Juan Islands.

Joanna McNaney Stein (2008) has become a contributing freelance writer for with a recent post appearing in July.

Cameron Walker (2008): Her essay, “Auditing Astronomy Class,” received an honorable mention in the American Institute of Physics Science Communication Awards.)

Kristy Webster (2009) Her chapbook, Birth, was one of six finalists for Heavy Feather Review’s annual chapbook contest (judged by Amber Sparks).



Rebecca McClanahan’s newest nonfiction book, The Tribal Knot, published in March, is now in its second printing.

Stan Rubin’s poem, “Complexities,” from his collection, There, Here. was featured on Montana Public Radio in November.

The Rubin/Kitchen Scholarship fund has raised $27,290 from 66 donors, fully endowing the scholarship. More donations are encouraged to support the students of RWW. If you are interested in donating, click here. Indicate in the comment line that your donation is intended for the Stan Sanvel Rubin and Judith Kitchen scholarship fund.

Comments are closed.